7: shari + sheri

me

shari + sheri
editors

+

+++

+

frost series by shari:

circle

midnight-blue

feathery1

+

+++

+

on the nightstand…

+

am loving..

  • my lunar calendar
  • stollen
  • ginger tea
  • juniper branches
  • fresh flowers in the kitchen

+

what inspires you about the winter?

my first real winter in vermont has been so inspiring. i love waking up to new frost patterns on the windowpanes, ice in the ponds and rivers, and the smell of evergreens. the cold air is invigorating, and i find a daily winter walk helps to clear my mind. mostly, though, i find winter inspiring because i am surrounded by white. it is like starting each day with a new canvas.

+

what are three constants in your day?

  1. black coffee
  2. building a fire
  3. flossing

+

+++

+

bird series by sheri:

img_7602

img_7409

img_8450

+

+++

+

on the nightstand…

+

am loving..

  • fog
  • auntie’s biscotti
  • satsuma mandarins
  • paper chains
  • chocolate chips and slim pretzels, together

+

what inspires you about the winter?

birding has seamlessly made its way into my every day, and this is my first winter migration season as a participating birder. frankly, i can’t believe my eyes. but the more i watch, the more i know it’s not just about the birds for me. it’s more about the way what i see in the natural world can reflect what i feel inside. the way a cloud of blackbirds makes music and the rat-a-tat-tat of a woodpecker pulls me out of myself. this week, my oldest son and i watched the snow geese rise up like thunder, and something more burst open a little in both of us.

+

what are three constants in your day?

  1. space heater
  2. boy kisses (winter flavor: sweet oatmeal)
  3. midday tea (winter flavor: genmai cha)
19 thoughts on “7: shari + sheri

  1. :)

    You two have such wonderful eyes… I’m loving both collections so much.

    Also: Really loving that you’ve both got such great books of poetry on your night stand. Sharon Olds is my favorite! I met her last January, and even have my picture with her–swoon–and she’s the poet that inspired me to go for it with writing.

    Stay warm! xoxo

  2. Such beauty, both wordy responses and visuals. Frost on window panes and birds mid flight… it looks decidedly and beautifully wintry over there.

    Thanks S & S, for this little insight to your likes and loves and inspirations, and for starting this joy+ride… how it lives up to its name!

    cheers, g

  3. Love all the photos. That frost, those birds… all so beautiful. I loved reading the constants in your lives at the moment too. Made me smile. xo lj
    PS I wish I could order some coffee, but alas I don’t think Australian customs wold appreciate it.

  4. Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful. I love the first bird photo and I love the idea of snow being a clean slate. What a neat idea to feature yourselves this issue.

  5. Pingback: hello « happinest

Leave a Reply

