32: luke + natalie

luke + natalie freeman
photographers

luke + natalie freeman reside in a tiny attic apartment in columbia, missouri. at the ages of 19 & 20, they decided to get hitched & have since been collaborating on their blog, him + her. they enjoy film photography, riding bicycles together, & breakfast dates. february is the six month marker in their adventure together.

+

+++

+

n

l

n

l

n

+

+++

+

on the nightstand:

natalie:

  • there are no children here by alex kotlowitz
  • guyland by michael kimmel (both required readings for my studies, but both are surprisingly interesting)
  • a half-knitted scarf
  • a dead cell phone (i never remember to charge these sorts of things)

luke:

+

am loving:

natalie:

  • the new studio space in the corner of our living room for my many on-going & unfinished projects & creative pursuits
  • growing wheat grass in little containers around our home. it is so nice to have a little green around
  • the delicious meals we’ve enjoyed these past couple of months on our mini road trips throughout missouri

luke:

  • thinking about our Spring garden, flipping through seed catalogues, and drawing out a garden plan
  • starting an etsy shop with my wife and blogging together on him + her—my wife is such an artistic inspiration to me.
  • the sun finally showing itself after a long winter

+

what inspires you about winter?

natalie:

the pursuit of happiness from within. there’s something so special about winter… the ways that it draws you into your home and close to the ones you love, keeps you warm with piles of blankets, & lights a burst of inspiration to create & discover. it is a very bare season, though- hushed and quieted by summer’s past. still, i like the time of waiting, of lingering dark nights & slow mornings. we need the winter to reflect, to calm ourselves, to reach deep inside & find that little light within us that keeps us going, making, and creating.

luke:

  • snow blanketing the landscape, transforming the world around me, making everything look clean and pristine
  • the exhilarating feeling of riding my bike in the cold, my lungs burning, my eyes watering, my nose running—yet enduring

+

what’s one item in your winter wardrobe you can’t go without?

natalie:
my striped glittens! they keep my hands warm while bicycling in the dead of winter.

luke:
long underwear—I wear long-johns non-stop during the winter because I get cold so easily

+

what’s your idea of the perfect winter meal?

natalie:
a grilled cheese & a bowl of tomato soup, unfrozen & saved from the summer’s abundance. also, dessert is a must. & by dessert, i mean a large piece of chocolate cake.

luke:
hot chili, cornbread and a salad—to warm me up and fill my belly… and I can’t go without those greens

+

what are three constants in your day?

natalie:

  • journaling & reading scripture while savoring a cup of french-pressed coffee
  • wishing i had carried my film camera along
  • getting antsy to see luke & enjoy some time at the dinner table after a long day of to do’s, classes, & work

luke:

  • waking up next to Natalie and kissing her forehead
  • listening to Morning Edition on the local NPR station
  • riding my bike to class or work
19 thoughts on “32: luke + natalie

  1. it was so great to read more about luke and natalie. i so enjoy their solo and collaborative blogs and, natalie, you know i love your shots :).

    i especially liked hearing about their winter inspirations.

    thank s for spotlighting them!

  2. “the pursuit of happiness from within.” LOVE this as an inspiration of winter! and what a sweet issue. thank you so much!

  3. Natalie is my very best friend, & it’s so neat to see her & Luke’s feature here! I am myself, constantly inspired by the love they share, and the beautiful blog they keep together. The two together are flawless.

  4. beautiful light in these photos. beautiful thoughts in these words. thank you – once again – for the introduction to two new-to-me artists.

  5. Yes, thank you for presenting this lovely and talented couple. I have been enjoying the beauty of their perspectives and artistic sensibilities in their site.

    I’m excited about what lies ahead for them since they are so young and so blessed already.

    Cheers!

  6. Pingback: the pursuit of happiness from within | inspiration

Leave a Reply

