35: elizabeth schuppe

elizabeth schuppe
artist

Color, line, shape, texture, and light are the media that express the emotion in my work. Rather than creating a recognizable object, I use the elements of painting itself to allow the story to unfold. There is no plan in my painting, yet there is process. I let a color, a line, a shadow dictate what comes next. The purpose is to create expression and emotion strictly out of in shape and color – completely abstract. My best works are the ones that just happen, when I allow myself to be surprised. Elizabeth Schuppe graduated with a degree in Studio Art from Skidmore College. She currently lives and works in Brooklyn, NY.

+

+++

+

+

+++

+

on the nightstand:

am loving:

MGMT’s latest album – Congratulations

what inspires you about spring?

the longer days!

what’s one item in your spring wardrobe you can’t go without?

finally bought myself a leather jacket – it completes every outfit.

what’s your idea of the perfect homemade spring meal?

risotto with asparagus and parmesan.

what are three constants in your day?

  • listening to brian lehrer on npr
  • reading my favorite blogs
  • an afternoon nap

tell us about the inspiration behind the work featured here.

i’ve recently had to give up my studio in DUMBO, brooklyn, which forced me to work at home. because space is limited here in my apartment, i had to work small and neat. two things that i am not used to doing. after a few failed attempts of working on small pieces of paper, i decided to work on 7×7 inch wood panels. the result is something quite different than my large, abstract paintings

11 thoughts on “35: elizabeth schuppe

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention 35: elizabeth schuppe « this joy+ride: poetry + photos + inspiration -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

