38: tim robison

tim robison
photographer + artist

Tim Robison currently lives in the mountains just outside Asheville, North Carolina. He studied art and interior architecture while in college and has a love for all things creative and well-designed. He has a strong passion for cooking, capturing light through his camera and drawing whenever possible. When he is not enjoying a cold local beer with friends, or cooking in the kitchen, he is usual on his computer designing and creating for locals around his town.  Tim blogs at That’s Just It Photo.

+

+++

+

+

+++

+

on the nightstand:

  • A new Moleskine. (Forcing myself to sketch more, and take life notes.)
  • Way too much pocket change.
  • The Graduate. (Just recently saw the movie and had to read the book.)
  • Framed favorite photos from friends.
  • Numerous magazines. (I have a hard time throwing old ones away.)

+

am loving:

  • The smell of the mountains in the summer.
  • Beers outside with good people.
  • Summer travels to warm places.
  • Chaco sandals.
  • The fan in my window.
  • Iced caramel lattes.
  • Fresh cut grass.

+

what inspires you about summer?

  • Late afternoons, fading into long warm evenings. I love watching the light change.
  • The abundance of green all around, especially here in the mountains.
  • Summer foods. I’d cook every meal on a grill if I could. It is such a nice change from the heavy winter dishes. So fresh and lite. It gets me cooking.

+

what’s one item in your summer wardrobe you can’t go without?

That’s tough. Honestly, there are two things: My rainbow sandals and a good plaid shirt.

+

what’s your idea of the perfect homemade summer meal?

Start with a good ale and some homemade guacamole. Then grilled honey-lemon chicken, grilled sweet corn with a squirt of lime, some awesome potato salad and a nice piece of crusty bread. Finish with grilled peaches, mascarpone cheese and good cup of coffee. (Preferably eaten outside with friends and family.)

+

what are three constants in your day?

  • Cooking.
  • Taking a handful of pictures, if not more.
  • My dog barking.

+

tell us about the inspiration behind the work featured here.

I have always been an artist. It wasn’t until a few years ago that I picked up a camera and discovered a new love and form of creative expression. The camera allows me to capture light and emotions where other forms of artistic mediums could not. Because of my strong cooking background as a chef, my studies of architecture in college, and my love of travel, I strive to capture the relationship of light within each of these art forms through my photography. With an emphasis on composition, simplicity, and finding the balance between light and shadow, I’ve grown to realize its not just about taking a pretty picture, but instead capturing a moment and personal feeling.

15 thoughts on “38: tim robison

  1. what a great post! tim surely knows how to capture a mood and feeling with his photos, i love hearing a bit more of his perspective.

  2. tim is so good, and i smiled to see that you were featuring him here. what a perfect match.
    sometimes i go back and just drink in the light in his photos.

  3. the light in these photo’s is magnificent and undeniably present in poetry
    …Tim captured the ‘fading’ so beautifully

    and i can hear the dog barking in the background:)

  4. Beautiful. Makes me wish I was spending my summer back at school in the woods in east TN (close to Asheville, NC) rather than back at home in the city. Such lovely colors and great responses. Love it.

Leave a Reply

