issue 67: chloe may brown

-1
chloe may brown
artist

Chloe May Brown is a hands-on maker who draws inspiration from the land and the sea. She dyes & sews fabric, builds sculptures, plays with clay, designs & screen prints textiles, paints pictures, and loves to spend time in the sunshine. Chloe currently resides in Portland, Maine with her cat Lila.

Find more of her work here or follow her on Instagram.

Photo by RTS.

+

-3

-4

-5

-6

-7

-2

+

on the nightstand:

am loving:

  • the light in my new apartment
  • the ocean (always)
  • my garden
  • this simple jam cake
  • the color pink

what’s one item in your summer wardrobe you can’t go without?

I definitely could not go without summer dresses, there is nothing more comfortable on hot days. Also, my swimsuit! Swimming in the ocean is my absolute favorite part of summer in Maine.

what’s your idea of the perfect summer meal?

During the summer I want a taste of everything fresh. My perfect meal would be a little bit of this and a little bit of that. A few favorites include, tomato and cucumber salad, ricotta on fresh bread, grilled summer squash, and handfuls and handfuls of berries.

what are three constants in your day?

  • waking up to my cat
  • sitting down for breakfast
  • getting outside

tell us about the inspiration behind this work:

This past winter I was living in Chicago. It was cold and grey. I spent a lot of my time daydreaming of other places. I was dreaming of landscapes full of color while I was surrounded by the grey of the city. I pulled from these images in my mind to create this group of collages made of hand-dyed cotton, clay, and paint.

One thought on “issue 67: chloe may brown

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE this blog. I had it saved in my many “favorites” from probably 5 years ago and just re-discovered it. I’ll be a frequent visitor.

Leave a Reply

