52: abby powell thompson

abby powell thompson
photographer

Abby Powell Thompson grew up in a tiny California farm town with her seven sisters, one brother and countless pets. Like her Mother she has a love for all things old and interesting and like her father she enjoys telling stories. After studying writing and journalism,  Abby moved to her dream city of Portland, Oregon. In Portland, Abby started blogging and discovered she had a knack for photography. Over six years she watched her hobby grow and she now blogs and sells her work full time. This past summer she relocated to Texas where she is exploring big, wide open spaces and expecting her first baby in early September.

+

+++

+

+++

+on the nightstand:

+

am loving:

+

how does winter inspire you?

Winter is my favorite time of year to shoot photos. The light is usually diffused or dark-and I love playing around with that. I enjoy trying to capture different weather patterns like fog or snow. I am also a big fan of layering and enjoy bundling up in stripey socks, bright scarves and chunky hand knit hats. Winter in Texas is so much different than the grey Portland ones, but it’s been interesting to watch it unfold.

+

what’s one item in your winter wardrobe you can’t go without?

My boots! I have a pair of almost knee high, buttery leather high heeled boots that are actually comfy. They are also very warm and make me feel instantly pulled together.

+

what’s your idea of the perfect homemade winter meal?

Black bean soup poured over hot basmati rice topped with fresh cilantro, avocado and salsa. I would serve it with Have’a corn chips and a giant spoon.

+

what is your winter theme song this year?

Little Eyes by Yo La Tengo

+

what are three constants in your day?

  • gazing at beautiful photos on Flickr
  • cooking
  • walking around East Austin

+

tell us about the inspiration behind these photos.

When I recently went back home to California I just felt so inspired-felt so much like “home is where the heart is”.  For me, this collection of images captures objects, people, places and feelings from home that inspire me. The olive groves, the moody Tule fog, the old objects collected by my family-these things hold memories so close to me. I am constantly amazed by how a simple object or being in a certain place can bring back a flooding rush of memories and emotions. For me, these photos do that.

19 thoughts on “52: abby powell thompson

  1. so beautiful, abby! i really love the wintry blues in this set :) & my favorite part of all… “expecting her first baby in early September.” yay! :)

  2. Abby has her own special way with color and I always enjoy it. And then there’s that simple beautiful winter meal…yum. I understand her reading and rereading. Ms. Kalman is pretty darn cool. I have her The Principles of Uncertainty and it’s a lovely pick as well. Such beautiful thoughts on memory to close this issue.

  3. Abby’s images fill my heart with joy — and I especially love them because I feel that she holds a gentle love for everything that she photographs, which is a criteria that I decided upon for my own work not so long ago. I think that you can really tell when a photographer holds the things that he or she takes pictures of close to his or her heart, whether it’s a landscape or a self-portrait. It makes me think about the importance of art as a form of admiration; this is the world, this is what I love about it. Thanks for sharing her here.

Leave a comment